International Mentoring Award

The Henry David International Mentoring Award for Division 52

The Division 52 Henry David International Mentoring Award is presented annually to a member or affiliate of Division 52, who plays an exceptional mentoring role in an international context. Mentoring may be defined by any of the following activities:

(1) A psychologist who has served as a mentor for international students or faculty member for at least three years.

(2) A psychologist who has mentored students in the area of international psychology, by training, educating, and/or preparing students to be active participants in international psychology.

(3) A senior psychologist who has mentored early career psychologists who are now functioning as international psychologists.


(4) An international psychologist working outside of the United States who serves as a mentor on his/her campus or at his/her agency.

The recipient of this prestigious award will be honored at the 2017 APA Convention in Washington, DC. Nominations, including self-nominations, are welcomed.

Nominations should include a cover letter, vitae, and at least 3 letters of endorsement from former or current mentees. Questions about the application procedure and nominations should be emailed to the Henry David International Mentoring Award Committee Chair, Lawrence Gerstein, Ph.D. at The Committee will review the nominations. The Committee’s recommendation will be reported to the Division 52 Board of Directors. The deadline to submit materials is April 1, 2017.

Division 52 International Mentoring Award Recipients

2016: Helene Hoi-Lam Fung,  Irene Lopez
2015:  Sheung-Tak Cheng, Stefania Ægisdóttir
2014: John Romano , Diana Zelman
2011: Lawrence Gerstein, Tara Pir, and Harold Takooshian
2010: Florence Denmark, Raymond Fowler, and Anthony Marsella
2009: Helen Verdeli
2008: Puncky P. Heppner
2007: Ani Kalayjian
2006: Kathleen Malley-Morrison
2005: (None)
2004: (None)
2003: Judith Torney-Purta and Narasappa Kumaraswamy
2002: Michael J. Stevens


Division of International Psychology © 2013•American Psychological Association