Denmark-Reuder Award

The Florence L. Denmark and Mary E. Reuder Award for Outstanding International Contributions to the Psychology of Women and Gender

The award is named for two charter members of Division 52 who are known for their scholarly contributions, international outlook, and outstanding mentoring. The award’s purpose is to recognize and encourage other outstanding psychologists who have made similar international contributions to further the understanding of women and/or gender. The outstanding contributions can be cross-cultural studies of women and gender, the mentoring of young colleagues across borders, the training of psychologists to do international work, or other areas deemed important by the Award Committee.

Criteria for Eligibility
The recipient must be a psychologist with a demonstrated interest in international or cross-cultural psychology. Current membership in Division 52 is not a requirement. The Committee will make up to one award per year.

The Award
The award shall consist of a plaque. The winner will be announced during the Division’s annual business meeting at the APA convention.

Submission Requirements and Procedure
Submission requirements are a copy of the candidate’s c.v. and a letter of nomination setting forth the most outstanding contributions of the candidate.
Materials may be mailed or emailed.

If mailing, please send six copies of the materials to:
Joan C. Chrisler, Ph.D.
Department of Psychology
Connecticut College
New London, CT 06320

If emailing, please attach as a Microsoft Word or PDF document with the title Denmark-Reuder-Award-CandidatesLastName and send to: Dr. Joan Chrisler at

Deadline: All materials must be received by May 1, 2017.
E-mail questions to Dr. Chrisler at

Division 52 Denmark-Reuder Award Recipients

2016: Jeanne Marecek, Ph.D.
2015: Shelly Grabe, Ph.D.
2014: M. Brinton Lykes, Ph.D.
2013: Carolyn Zerbe Enns, Ph.D.
2012: Judith Gibbons, Ph.D.
2011: Joy K. Rice, Ph.D.
2010: Ramaswami Mahalingam, Ph.D.
2009: Kathryn Norsworthy, Ph.D.
2008: Ellyn Kaschak, Ph.D.
2007: Sharon Horne, Ph.D.
2006: Oliva M. Espin, Ph.D.
2005: Irene Hanson Frieze, Ph.D.
2004: Anne E. Brodsky, Ph.D.
2003: Joan C. Chrisler, Ph.D.

Division of International Psychology © 2016 • American Psychological Association